How to Delete All Photos on iPhone

How to Delete All Photos on iPhone

Apple doesn’t give you an option to select All Photos and Delete them at once. But it does not mean you have to delete every picture and video one by one. There is a relatively easy way to select and erase them all. In this article, we’re going to show you a little trick to do it. 

Also, if you want to free up more storage space and speed up your iPhone, check out this article for How to Clear Cache on iPhone.

What you need to know before you Delete Photos or Videos on your iPhone

  • When you use iCloud Photos and delete a photo or video on one device, it gets deleted on all other synced devices.
  • Once you delete a photo or video, it still takes up space on your device. Apple automatically moves it in the Recently Deleted album in case you want to recover the photos later.

How to Delete All Photos on your iPhone at once

Step 1. Launch the Photos app on the iPhone or iPad Home screen.

Step 2. Navigate to the Albums tab at the bottom of your screen.

Step 3. Tap Recents in the My Albums group (or this might be called All Photos or Camera Roll).

How to Delete All Photos on iPhone - Tap Recents in the My Albums group.

Step 4. Tap Select in the upper-righthand corner.

Tap on Select at the upper righthand corner.

Step 5. Lightly tap your most recent photo and slide your finger to the top left of the screen to begin selecting multiple photos. Leave your finger on the screen and continue scrolling, you’ll see blue check marks appear next to each photo when you’re sliding your finger.

Tips: To speed things up, use another finger to swipe downward repeatedly. This will let you select thousands of photos in a matter of seconds.

Note: When you tap the photo, don’t hold your finger too long, or swipe straight upwards from there. You’ll end up moving the photo instead of selecting it.

Lightly tap your most recent photo and slide your finger to the top left of the screen to begin selecting multiple photos.

Step 6. When all the photos are selected, tap the Trash icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen to remove them.

Tap the Trash icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen to remove them.

Step 7. Tap Delete [#] Items to confirm that you want to delete these photos.

Tap Delete Items to confirm that you want to delete these photos.

All your deleted photos have been moved to the Recently Deleted album on the Photos app. They sit there for 30 days and still take up space on your device unless you manually remove them.

If you want to permanently delete them, you need to empty this album. Follow the instructions below to completely remove these photos from your iPhone immediately.

How to Delete All Photos on your iPhone Permanently

Step 1. Open the Photos app.

Step 2. Navigate to the Albums tab again to see the list of albums.

Step 3. Scroll down to the bottom of the Album screen and tap the Recently Deleted.

Scroll down to the bottom of the Album screen and tap the Recently Deleted.

Step 4. Tap on Select at the upper righthand corner.

How to Delete All Photos on iPhone - Tap Select in the upper righthand corner.

Step 5. Tap Delete All in the lower-left corner.

Tap Delete All in the lower left corner.

Step 6. Confirm that you want to delete these photos by tapping Delete [#] Items.

Confirm that you want to delete these photos by tapping Delete [#] Items.

At this point, all your deleted photos are gone forever.

Now you know How to Delete All Your Photos to save your storage. If you want to free up space without deleting your photos, check out How to Clear Cache on your iPhone to free up storage and speed up your iPhone. And as another bonus, here’s How to Delete Apps on iPhone, iPad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top